iOS 17 Family Passwords: Share Passwords on iPhone

Advertisements

iCloud Keychain has gotten a big upgrade in iOS 17 making it easier than ever to Share Passwords on iPhone with others. In this article we will show you how to share passwords on your iPhone in iOS 17 using the new iCloud Keychain feature.

Share passwords on iPhone: How to use Family Passwords in iOS 17

Apple has been working hard to improve its Family Sharing features. Last year they introduced the iCloud Shared Photo Library which made it simple to manage family photos and videos.

Now in iOS 17 (also available for iPadOS 17 and macOS Sonoma) iCloud Keychain has taken a step forward by allowing you to share passwords and passkeys with others which Apple refers to as “Family Passwords.” The great thing is that you can share them with anyone not just family members.

Here how Apple explains this new feature:

“To make sharing passwords and passkeys easier and more secure users can now share them with a group of trusted contacts. Everyone in the group can add and update passwords. And because the sharing happens through iCloud Keychain it is encrypted from end to end.”

Advertisements

Sharing Passwords on iPhone in iOS 17:

Please note that iOS 17 is currently in beta. If you want to try out features like shared passwords you can learn how to install the software.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone running iOS 17.
  2. Scroll down and tap on “Passwords.”
  3. Near the top you will find “Family Passwords.” Tap on “Get Started.”
  4. Add the people you want to share passwords with (they need to have iOS 17 on their iPhones too).
  5. Now select the passwords (or passkeys) that you want to share.
  6. Tap “Move” in the top right corner.
  7. You can now send a message to the person/people you are sharing passwords with.
  8. You are all set up and others who join can also share passwords if they want.
  9. The cool thing is that you can set up multiple shared password groups as many as you need.

Read Article: Hostinger Review 2023

Here something important to know when deleting shared credentials: When you delete them they go into a “Recently Deleted” folder which will be permanently deleted after 30 days. This deletion applies to both your own passwords and the shared ones. If you want to remove a shared password but keep it in your own passwords go to the “Recently Deleted” section tap the password and select “Recover to My Passwords.”

Step 1:

Share passwords on iPhone: How to use Family Passwords in iOS 17

Step 2:

Share passwords on iPhone: How to use Family Passwords in iOS 17

Step 3:

Share passwords on iPhone: How to use Family Passwords in iOS 17

Last Step:

Share passwords on iPhone: How to use Family Passwords in iOS 17

In this place Share Passwords on iPhone you can find the passwords and passkeys that you and your group friends have shared. You can also do a few other things here:

  • If you want you can add more passwords or take some away.
  • You can invite more people to the group or say goodbye to some.
  • If you want to give your group a new name you can do that too.
  • And if you do not need the group anymore you can delete it.
  • It is pretty simple right? You can do all these things in one place.

This feature of sharing passwords across Apple devices makes iCloud Keychain more convenient than ever and puts it in competition with paid password managers. Are you excited about this new capability? How to use Family Passwords Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments!

Thank you for reading our guide on how to share passwords on your iPhone in iOS 17!

Leave a comment

Advertisements